Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Painting - novice

Painting - novice

Had a bit of a read on the HX section about 308 and Absinth's thoughts on paint.

Below is a novice's perspective on spraying 2pak.

I am a complete novice spray painter, but recently restored a set of GTS rims for the van. I had the rims professionally blasted and primed in 2pak.

Painting them was not too hard and I guess with rims, you get to practice on the back where no-one sees.

Putting the silver on the rims was not too bigger problem and then the black - also not a problem.

When I came to spraying a clear 2pak over the top, this is where the problems started - this paint was about as thin as water and thus had a tendency to run. Once I got my head around how thin this was then I was ok.

Rims turned out a treat and I would recommend anyone to give it a go. - Only thing - 2pak is not that good for your health - I had access to a spray booth and purchased a good quality mask.

wayne

Cruiser
    Have toyed with the idea of buying a good quality compressor and spraying my van myself in acryilic or even getting all prepped and asking my neighbour to paint it, again in acryilic, my neighbours LC GTR XU1 has come up well and he hasnt finished the buffing etc yet. From what I understand with 2-paks is the temperature needs to be right etc?? and thats where the booth comes into play. My panelbeater has quoted roughly 6-7 for a 2-pak paint job and with rust repairs/sandblasting might as well say 10,000. So the appeal of doing it in acryilic has its appeal but I am more concerned on what is the best finish and the most durable in the long run, I am sure their are advantages with both. Any chance of some pics of your rims before and after??

the biggest thing you need to remember with painting is that you can have the worlds best painter do it but if the preparation isnt perfect then the paintjob will be rubbish...