Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is my hj a real sandman

Learner Driver

Is my hj a real sandman

Hi I'm I've been researching a panel van that has been in my family for the last 15 years and now I own I've been to a lot of different stories on how to tell if its a real sandman but I'm still none the wiser just confused it doesn't have xx7 or xu3 on the tags but is a factory v8 2 seater with gts options it has a full roof lining with the factory hooks at the back where the hood lining attaches to has arm rest on the doors which I've been told is only in sandmans. I no it was built I'm Melbourne and I've been told they didn't make them there? I d also been told its an ambulance pack which I have no idea what that means its a 253 with a 4 speed on the floor the tyre plaquard says it has 14 inch wheels
    Model: HJ8WM70
    Body: 181833-A no idea what this means
    Trim: 1898-19V
    Paint: 567-15944 deville blue
    L32. M20. GU4
    GVM: 1950kg
    Seats: 2. 3/76
    BHJ13519M
    And chasis matches any help would b really appreciated so I can once and for all no if its the real deal or not

Sandman Guru
    It most likely is. Won't be an Ambulance with 1950kg GVW. The only other thing it may be but which is very unlikely is a HJ Holden van with option code B30 (comfort package) which gives you carpet and full length headlining, but these are VERY few and far between. I'd be 99% sure it is a Sandman but you can't tell from those ID plates. The only thing that a Sandman will have that the Holden van can't is a console, so if it has factory front and rear console brackets (not welded on afterwards) it will be a Sandman.

Can you post up the VIN? Will be close to 8M70RFJ5144xxJ. It will help me resolve a fair few cars around it. I have one with BODY number 181834-A, and some VIN digits missing so yours will help me nail it down. Plus a few others around it.