Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: hz replica sandman ute/ custom

Learner Driver

hz replica sandman ute/ custom

Hi guys,
    Haven't really been involved on the forum here but have used it extensively for research which has been great. Im 32, have a wife and 2 kids, am a spray painter by trade, have had the opportunity to work on many older cars and restorations but I have a definite love for vehicles of the 70's.
    I couldn't quite afford the straight up cost of a genuine sandman with a mortgage and family etc so decided to piece one together. This car is really far from a replica, I have built it to be period specific to the 70's, not correct. I wanted people to look at it and believe its a factory vehicle at first glance but not being genuine have changed trim and bits and pieces and wanted it to have that 70s muscle car flavour.
    I started with a $6000 ute from Tamworth owned by a couple named Jay and Steve about 3 and a half years ago. Running a 253, manual and a 2.78 rear. yellow with brown interior.

I could post countless photos but while this was a fairly clean example of a HZ she was full of minor dents, had to do rust under the screens, under the r/h plenum, and in the Lh sill. The rust that was there wasn't bad. probably the worst feature of the car was the extremely battered tray and rear cab panel.

The car was bare metaled and repaired. I ended up driving her in primer for about a year. I sourced a twin headlight front off of a Hj statesman, trim pieces and everything else.
    I had started the project with a $500 ute off of a mate that just about fell apart from rust when sandblasted but it did give me a donor 308. I rebuilt this at home as it had had a very poor previous rebuild with a fairly standard bottom end with 40thou acl flat tops, crane 276 cam and lifters, rollmaster timing chain, yella terra bolt on adjustable rockers, edelbrock performer and rebuilt Qjet and pre pollution red heads with a bowl job and 1.94 intake valve.