Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Project Papaya

Project Papaya

Hello folks,

I am new to the world of Sandman panel vans and likewise new to the world of vehicle restoration projects. A bit over 12 months ago I saw a gorgeous panel van at a Shine and Shine at Atherton in Far North Queensland. My wife and I immediately fell in love with it and decided that we needed one. Need is a far better description because it then becomes a matter of life and death. I almost immediately found a van that required a lot of work and almost purchased it. The owner however had a change of heart and I found myself on the lookout again.

One year later at the Atherton Show and Shine of all places there was an old guy with a piece of gyproc plaster board that had a couple of really average photos of what was supposedly a genuine Sandman Van for sale. I got talking with him and found out it required a complete restoration and that it had spent the last 14 years in storage. I did a bit of research and a week later viewed the van. He was not lying, the van is a genuine Sandman and yes it was in need of a complete restoration. With rust in the rear left roof, both rear quarters behind the wheels, rust in the front cowls, a completely rusted out upper tailgate and other bits and pieces. The interior looked very average with the seats and centre armrest needing lots of love, bare floors with surface rust, cracked dash pad and a general shit fight.

Mechanically I was on a winner, the 308 engine had just had a rebuild prior to storage with Yella Terra heads and a lumpy cam added. It absolutely purrs. The transmission is a four speed Top Loader with an approved QLD Mod plate. Unfortunately the engine and chassis numbers do not align to the plates, it has a HQ chassis and a QLD Police engine number. The van had also been painted blue.

image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg